CahBojonegoro

Rawe Rawe Rantas, Malang Malang Putung

Conky – Light Weight System Monitor

with 2 comments

I’m looking for something to decorate my desktop, need some application that handy but powerfull and rich of features. There are many options like screenlets, google-gadget, gdesklets. But all of them utilizing a huge amount of memory since each applet was considered as a single application running. Imagine how many memory will be used if i’m running applet to monitor CPU Usage, Memory Usage, Network Interface Performance, Disk Usage, CPU & Disk Temperature and so on.
Then i got a very good small fully customizable application called Conky.
Conky is small, light-weight system monitor for X, that display any information on your desktop.
And it is fully customizable application, we can configure what information needed to be displayed in the desktop, conky appearance, font, and even display a graph for the system utilization ( Memory, CPU, Disk Usage, Network ).

In Ubuntu Linux, we can install from repository.

sudo aptitude install conky

Then run conky from terminal.

conky

Conky will read the configuration from ~/.conkyrc, in case of this file doesn’t exist. It will use the default configuration.
To get satisfied with conky, i recommend you to create ~/.conkyrc to suit your need. There are many template of conky that you can search and modify as you like.

for my case, this is my current conky looks like.

My Conky Screenshot

My Conky Screenshot

Actually i got the config file from googling around, but i forgot where is the original source. I do some modification for this config.

For CPU Usage
I’m using dual core, so i add cpu# parameter in $cpu variable.

For CPU Temperature
I Installed lm-sensor then modify the config to get each CPU temperature.

For Disk Temperature
I Installed hddtemp then modify the config to use hddtemp.

For Disk Usage
Modify according local disk & Partition in my laptop.

For Network Connection
I removed Eth0 and replace with wlan0 and ppp0.

Overall, here is my conky config file.

Written by cahbojonegoro

December 9, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Posted in Ubuntu

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really great starting point. I know linux pretty well and this gave me some great ideas. You made me love conky thank you 🙂

    eric soukenka

    November 11, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  2. My goal in fitness right now is really increase fat loss and build lean muscles. should i take weight gainers?

    p90x2

    May 16, 2011 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

